What are the Different Levels of Scuba Diver Training?

There are several levels in scuba diving training. However, it is not obligatory for you to learn all of these courses.

You can choose the basic and important modules when it comes to scuba diving especially those which are applicable to your capacity and preferences. The significant courses include the following:

  • Fundamental Scuba Diving
  • Advanced Scuba Diving
  • Specialty Modules
  • Master Scuba Diving
  • Technical Diving
  • Leadership and Instructor Sets

Basic and Advanced Courses

The basic scuba training is the entry level for advanced recreational and professional certifications. This certification will meet your requirements if diving for you is an irregular recreational pursuit that you want to participate in with peers. Potential divers will learn about the theoretical facets of diving. Diving lessons in pools will follow as simulation for open-water diving. Essential scuba diving gear like the mask, fins and snorkel should be acquired by the student preferably on a rental basis. The use of appropriate equipment is crucial to your success.

Advanced scuba certification is suggested for individuals who are interested in diving often. In fact, the training facility may even recommend the experienced scuba program prior to the advanced course. It consists of a lot of open water dives. The National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI) asks for proof that you have done at least 25 open water dives before allowing you to enroll in the advanced training. This category introduces divers to the different types of specialty diving. This is also the opportunity for you to study navigation, exploration of waters, low visibility and night diving. A few training instructors may allow you to participate in hunting and collection; surf and altitude diving; photography diving; use of computers; underwater mapping, search and recovery simulations; and, scuba diving in different types of water.

Other Forms of Diving Lessons

The master scuba certification course can be your next stop after completion of the advanced training. This course should include dives in waters that will try out your dexterity and capabilities. Deep-sea diving and simulated decompression is usually covered together with underwater navigation, emergency procedures, rescue and search and recovery diving. The specialty courses include training assistant diving, underwater archaeology and environment diving, underwater ecology, and enriched scuba diving.

Technical diving is quite complicated and consists of equally complex fields such as the following:

  • Introduction to technical diving courses
  • Cavern diving
  • Mixed gas and decompression diving
  • Ice diving
  • Closed circuit re-breathing and semi-closed re-breathing diving
  • Wreck penetration diving
  • Heli-air, Helitrox, Nitrox and Tri-mix diving
  • Technical support leader courses

Leadership and instructor scuba diving classes include assistant instructor courses, skin diving instructor, dive master, and instructor courses. There are stringent requirements before one is permitted to enroll. One important thing to remember is that diving students must stick to standard scuba diving equipment to make sure that you remain safe while engaging in this activity. You have to learn not only diving procedures but the functions of each gear and proper maintenance measures for said equipment.